Useful Information

Official Name

The Republic of Armenia (RA)


Armenia borders with Georgia on the north, Iran – on the south, Azerbaijan - on the east, andTurkey – on the west.

The total area of the country is measured at 29,743 sq km, 36% of which is covered by mountains and plateaus; the average altitude above sea level is 1800 m. The highest peak in Armenia is Mount Aragats (4090 m).

The climate is dry, highland continental; the average temperature in January is -2.3°C, and in June is +16.3 °C.

Standard Time Zone – GMT +04:00

Administrative Division

Armenia is subdivided into 10 administrative divisions – marzes. The capital of the country, Yerevan, also holds a special administrative status of a marz.


The monetary unit of Armenia is Armenian dram introduced in 1993.


According to the latest estimates calculated in 2017, the population of Armenia is 2 986 100, 98.1% of which are Armenians. People of other nationalities – such as Yezidis, Russians, Assyrians, Ukrainians, Kurds, Greeks, and Jews – also live in Armenia.


In 301 AD, Armenia became the first country in the world to adopt Christianity as a state religion. The official religious institution is the Armenian Apostolic Church. It is headed by the Catholicos of All Armenians, who resides in the city of Etchmiadzin. Armenia has always stood at a crossroads of trade routes and cultures, which is why Armenians are tolerant to other religions and nationalities.


The website of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of Armenia contains detailed information on the process of obtaining Armenian visa for citizens of different countries, as well as the list of countries with which Armenia has a visa-free regime.